District 1: Springfield, Conneaut, Girard, Elk Creek, Fairview, and Franklin townships and Platea Borough in Erie County and Monroe and Conneaut townships in Ashtabula County.

Northwestern REC holds nominating meetings in the early spring time. In 2022, the following Cooperative member was elected by the membership to serve as District 1 director. Her term will last three years. Elections take place before and during the Annual Meeting.


June T. Shelhamer

June T. Shelhamer has been a member of Northwestern REC since the day she was born and currently lives on the property she grew up on in Franklin Township.

Shelhamer served as Franklin Township tax collector from 1978 until she retired on Jan. 1, 2022. During her time as an elected official, she sat on the Pennsylvania State Tax Collectors Board of Directors for several years in the 1990s. Throughout her working career, Shalhamer has also owned and operated the Priority Pack and Ship store in Edinboro from 1993 through 2005, as well as served as a controller at Beacon Lubricants, Inc. from 2006 until she retired in 2019 to care for her ailing husband, Gary, who passed away in Nov. 2021.

Shelhamer has been a member of the Franklin Township Volunteer Fire Department for the past 40 years prevously dispatcing calls for the fire police, but currently serves as treasurer and helps raise funds for the department.

She has one daughter, one son-in-law, and two grandsons (one who is currently serving in the US Navy). Her other daugther passed away in 2014. Along with her deceased daughter’s husband, she also has a step-daughter-in-law and a step-granddaughter.